Aidpage is a
support network.
Ask for help
Offer help
Sign up now
Talking about:
1 posts
200 visits

Homeland Security Award

Squirrel started this conversation

This federal aid program is managed by:

Christopher Columbus Fellowship Foundation


To promote and encourage 'cutting edge' innovation in the vast arena of homeland security.

Funding obligations:

(Direct Payments with Unrestricted Use) FY 09 $25,000; FY 10 est $100,000; FY 11 est $100,000 - In 2009 there was one $25,000 award. In 2010, there will be four $25,000 awards.

Uses and Use Restrictions:

The assistance can be used to further research or as the recipient chooses.

Examples of Funded Projects:

Not Applicable.

Program Accomplishments:

Fiscal Year 2010: No Current Data Available Fiscal Year 2011: There will be four $25,000 in FY 2011. Fiscal Year 2012: No Current Data Available

Types of Assistance:

Direct Payments with Unrestricted Use

Range and Average of Financial Assistance:

$25,000 per award.

Length and Time Phasing of Assistance:

Not applicable. Method of awarding/releasing assistance: lump sum.

Applicant Eligibility:

This is a competition NOT a grant application. Individuals/companies compete and their accomplishments are judged on how they are making measurable and constructive contributions related to basic and/or advanced research in the area of homeland security. Nominees must be involved in the field of homeland security. In public/private partnership with AgustaWestland North America, the Christopher Columbus Fellowship Foundation will present four $25,000 Homeland Security Awards to advance research and honor individuals or companies pursuing new discoveries in the field of homeland security. A $25,000 Homeland Security Award will be presented in each of the following four fields: 1) Biological, Radiological, Nuclear, Chemical and Explosive Attacks; 2) Border and Transportation Security; 3) Cyber Security and Information Sharing; and 4) Emergency Response to Natural and Man-made Disasters.

Beneficiary Eligibility:

U.S. citizens/companies permitted by their employer or any other relevant authority to accept a monetary award bestowed by the Christopher Columbus Fellowship Foundation, a Federal government agency. The individuals/companies will be honored for making measurable and constructive contributions related to basic and/or advanced research in the area of homeland security.

Award Procedure:

The Awards are sponsored by a public-private partnership between the Christopher Columbus Fellowship Foundation and AgustaWestland North America, a global leader in designing, manufacturing and supporting the world's most technologically advanced helicopters. All Nominations are read by the Foundation Board of Trustees to select the Semifinalists. Nominators are notified of the Nominee's selection as a Semifinalist and asked to provide background material to support the Nomination. A national Evaluation Committee reviews and comments on the Semifinalist's background material. The Foundation Board of Trustees and AgustaWestland select the Award winners. The Award will be presented in Washington, D.C. on a date to be determined.

Contact Info for Headquarters Office:

Judith Shellenberger, 110 Genesee Street, Suite 390, Auburn, New York 13021 Email: JUDITHMSCOLUMBUS@CS.COM Phone: (315) 258-0090 Fax: (315) 258-0093.

Website Address: or

Click here to add your comment...